Make your own free website on

History of Omicron Gamma

The Omicron Gamma Chapter of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity of America was founded on the twenty-first day of April in the year of our Lord ninetteen hundred and ninety-five at Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University. The Omicron Gamma chapter line known as Harnonic Genesis, included twenty three students and two faculty members, Brother Dr. Shaylor L. James and Brother Dr. Geoffrey Horn. During the probationary period these brethren of music were known as the Florida Beta Colony.

The inspiration behind the Florida Beta Colony was brother Eddie Buggs Jr. who was a student at FAMU at the time. Brother Buggs became a member of the Kappa Beta chapter of Phi Mu Alpha in the spring of 1984 at Morris Brown College in Atlanta, Georgia. Brother Dr. William P. Foster, who became a member at Columbia College in 1952, and brother Marty Robinson who became a member at Lawrence College in 1983, provided faculty support.

The Omicron Gamma chapter of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity of America Inc. was chartered by the Epsilon Iota Chapter of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia at Florida State University.

Omicron Gamma is a very musicaly enthused chapter that strives to bestow the appreciation of God's eminent gift of music upon Florida A&M University and the world!

<bgsound src="lvb067a.mid" loop=infinite>

Last updated March 2, 1998
Web page by Alvin A. Davis